Central Public Works Department

CPWD is the principal agency of the Government of India for construction as well as maintenance of all Central Government buildings and projects excluding those belonging to Railways, Defence, Communication, Atomic Energy, Airports and All India Radio.

The genesis of CPWD can be traced back to the setting up of Ajmer Provincial Division in 1863. It acquired its size and stature in 1911 when it played a key role in the making of infrastructure for shifting the National Capital from Calcutta to Delhi. The Department constructed the monumental buildings like the Rashtrapati Bhawan, North and South Blocks, the Parliament House and the India Gate. This still forms the very nucleus of New Delhi.

The Department formally started functioning as CPWD in 1930.

In post-Independence era, the activities of CPWD have grown steadily over the years. The Department has participated very actively in the national development process and has contributed to the creation of social and physical infrastructure in virtually all sectors of development.

The pioneering development works in inaccessible areas like Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Tripura, Mizoram, Himachal Pradesh, Andman & Nicobar, Lakshdeep etc. were successfully completed by the CPWD.

What CPWD Does

CPWD handles and executes wide ranging projects as detailed below:

1. Building Projects:

  1. Roads, Bridges, Fly-overs and Tunnels
  2. Water Tanks
  1. Universities, Schools and Colleges
  2. Medical Colleges and Hospitals
  3. Scientific and Research laboratories
  1. Holiday Home
  2. Tourist Resorts
  3. Stadia and Cultural Complexes
  4. Conference Buildings
  1. Silos
  2. Mints and Bank Note Presses
  3. Paper Mills
  1. Memorials
  2. Parks and Gardens
  1. Boarder fencing
  2. Flood Lighting
  3. Roads and other works of paramilitary
  4. Organisation in boarder and remote areas

 2. Maintenance of Capital Assets


Residential and non-residential buildings including civil, electrical, mechanical, air-conditioning, horticulture and other services.

CPWD has introduced a web based computerized complaint recording and monitoring system in Delhi for registering of service requirements by residents directly. This facility is available round the clock at Tele. No. 436 9858 (24 lines). The service requirements can also be recorded by the residents through internet at site http://cpwdsewa.nic.in. The interactive voice response system and the web site are extremely user friendly and not only help the residents in getting their service requirements registered and will also provide them with the status of their requirement.

3. Consultancy

4. Project Management

Cunsultancy services to various public sector organisation / autonomous bodies in India and abroad.

5. Valuation

Assessment of immovable assets for preemptive purchase of immovable properties in implementation of Direct Tax Laws.

6. Technical Know how

Participation in various committees of Bureau of Indian Standards and Indian Road Congress for formulation of National Codes and Standards and exchanging knowledge in International and national seminars.

7. Deposit Works

Work of Public Sector Undertakings and Autonomous Bodies, as deposit work.

Organisational Set Up Of CPWD

The Director General CPWD is the administrative and technical Head of the Department. He also acts as the Technical Advisor to the Government of India.

The next in command are six Additional Directors Generals. Two of them are based at the headquarter to assist the Director General in the areas of Strategic Planning (SP) and Technical Development(TD) .The remaining four head the four regional set ups, headquartered at New Delhi, Mumbai, Calcutta and Chennai to look after the Northern, Western, Eastern and Southern regions of the country. In addition, there is one Additional Director General to look after exclusively the project of Border Fencing and Flood Lighting along Indo-Pak and

Indo-Bangladesh borders and another Additional Director General who head the architectural wing of the Department.

The Department has Zonal Offices located at most of the State capitals. At present there are twenty civil zones and six electrical zones, each under a Chief Engineer . In addition, there are a number of project teams, dedicated to projects, each under a chief Engineer.

Four Chief Architects, two located at Delhi and one each at Mumbai and Calcutta, function under the technical control of ADG (Arch) to look after the architectural planning for projects executed under different regions.

A Horticulture Wing headed by a Director of Horticulture is locates at Delhi to look after the horticulture works with a network of field units.

Two Chief Engineers function with the Income Tax Department for the valuation of immovable properties and are located at Delhi and Chennai. In addition, there are seven Chief Engineers with the Income Tax Department who function as members of the Appropriate Authorities at different places in the country.

Visit Website :